Presidential Policy Directive 21 (PPD-21)

Presidential Policy Directive 21 (PPD-21) is a directive issued by President Barack Obama on February 12, 2013, which establishes a comprehensive national cyber security policy. The directive sets forth a framework for securing cyberspace and critical infrastructure from cyber attacks, and sets out the roles and responsibilities of various federal agencies in carrying out the policy.

PPD-21 is the first comprehensive cyber security policy issued by the United States government. The directive builds on previous policies and directives, including the National Security Presidential Directive 54/Homeland Security Presidential Directive 23 (NSPD-54/HSPD-23), issued in January 2008, which established the National Cybersecurity Initiative (NCI).

PPD-21 builds on the NCI by:

- Establishing a clear policy framework for cyber security, including the roles and responsibilities of various federal agencies;

- Directing the development of a national cyber security strategy, to be released within 120 days of the directive;

- Calling for the development of a set of voluntary cybersecurity standards for critical infrastructure;

- Directing the establishment of a Cyber Incident Coordination Center, to be operational within 120 days of the directive;

- Calling for the development of a national awareness and education campaign on cyber security; and

- Directing the establishment of a Cybersecurity R&D Fund, to be used for investment in cybersecurity research and development. What is the PPD 21 definition of security? The PPD 21 definition of security is "the prevention of unauthorized access, use, disclosure, interception, or destruction of data."

Which of the following are identified in PPD 21 as critical infrastructure sectors?

The critical infrastructure sectors identified in PPD 21 are:

-Information and Communications
-Transportation Systems
-Emergency Services
-Banking and Finance
-Critical Manufacturing
-Health and Public Health
-Defense Industrial Base
-Food and Agriculture
-Water and Wastewater Systems

How many critical infrastructure sector are defined in Presidential policy Directive 21?

There are 16 critical infrastructure sectors defined in Presidential policy Directive 21. They are:

1. Chemical
2. Communications
3. Critical Manufacturing
4. Dams
5. Defense Industrial Base
6. Emergency Services
7. Energy
8. Financial Services
9. Food and Agriculture
10. Government Facilities
11. Healthcare and Public Health
12. Information Technology
13. Nuclear Reactors, Materials, and Waste
14. Transportation Systems
15. Water and Wastewater Systems
16. National Monuments and Icons

What is a presidential policy directive?

A presidential policy directive (PPD) is a directive issued by the President of the United States that establishes policy for the federal government.

PPDs are used to communicate the President's intent for how the executive branch should implement policy and take action on behalf of the American people. They are also used to direct federal agencies to take specific actions to implement the President's agenda.

PPDs are different from executive orders in that they do not have the force of law. However, they are binding on executive branch agencies and have the weight of law behind them.

PPDs are usually released in the form of a Presidential Memorandum, but they can also take the form of a National Security Presidential Directive or a Homeland Security Presidential Directive.

PPDs typically go through a inter-agency review process before they are issued, and they are usually released to the public after they have been issued.

What is considered critical infrastructure in the United States?

Critical infrastructure in the United States refers to the physical and cyber systems and assets that are essential to the functioning of the country. This includes, but is not limited to, the power grid, financial and banking systems, telecommunications, transportation, water and wastewater systems, and healthcare. The Department of Homeland Security has identified 16 critical infrastructure sectors that are considered vital to the country:

-Commercial Facilities
-Critical Manufacturing
-Defense Industrial Base
-Emergency Services
-Financial Services
-Food and Agriculture
-Government Facilities
-Health and Public Health
-Information Technology
-Nuclear Reactors, Materials, and Waste
-Transportation Systems
-Water and Wastewater Systems