HTML5 is the fifth and current major version of the HTML standard, and subsumes XHTML. It currently exists in two standardized forms: HTML 5.2 Recommendation by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C, a broad coalition of organizations), and living HTML (not an official standard) by the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG, a more narrowly focused coalition).

HTML5 is a response to the observation that the HTML and XHTML in the early 2000s were too complex and not suitable for the demands of Web applications. The W3C started work on HTML5 in 2007.

While some features of HTML5 are often compared to Adobe Flash, HTML5 is, in fact, three technologies:

HTML5, which provides a richer set of tags for describing content
CSS3, which improves the ability to style content
JavaScript, which enables more powerful applications

HTML5 is not yet an official standard, but all major browsers support most of its features.

What HTML5 means?

HTML5 is the latest version of the HTML standard, which is the markup language used to structure and present content on the World Wide Web. HTML5 was released in October 2014, and is the fifth major revision of the HTML standard since the inception of the World Wide Web in 1989.

HTML5 is a major update to the HTML standard that adds new elements, attributes, and APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) to the language. Some of the new features include:

- New HTML elements, such as



, and

- New attributes, such as the 'required' attribute for form input elements.
- New APIs, such as the Geolocation API and the Drag and Drop API.
- Improved support for multimedia, including audio and video playback.
- Improved support for offline applications.

HTML5 is designed to be backward compatible with older versions of HTML, so that existing websites will continue to work in modern web browsers. However, some older browsers, such as Internet Explorer 8 and earlier, do not support the new features of HTML5. Is HTML5 built into Chrome? No, HTML5 is not built into Chrome. However, Chrome does have some HTML5 features built in. For example, Chrome has a built-in PDF viewer, which allows you to view PDFs without having to install a separate PDF viewer. Is HTML5 free to use? Yes, HTML5 is free to use. There are no licensing fees associated with using HTML5.

Why is HTML5 used?

HTML5 is the latest version of the Hypertext Markup Language, the standard code used to create web pages. It is a markup language that defines the structure of a web page.

HTML5 is used to create web pages that are interactive and responsive. It is used to create web pages that can be used on any device, including mobile devices. HTML5 is also used to create web pages that are accessible and can be used by people with disabilities. Can I learn HTML5 without knowing HTML? Yes, you can learn HTML5 without knowing HTML. However, if you want to be proficient in HTML5, it is recommended that you have at least a basic understanding of HTML.