Seven wastes

The seven wastes are a classification of manufacturing defects identified by Taiichi Ohno, the Japanese industrial engineer who pioneered the Toyota Production System. The wastes are:

1. Overproduction
2. Inventory
3. Motion
4. Transportation
5. Waiting
6. Over-processing
7. Defects

The wastes are also sometimes referred to as the "Ohno circle" or the "Toyota production system." What is the acronym for the 7 wastes? The acronym for the 7 wastes is DOWNTIME.

What are the 8 types of waste?

The 8 types of waste are:

1. Unnecessary features
2. Redundant features
3. Inconsistent features
4. Outdated features
5. Unused features
6. Poorly designed features
7. Inefficient features
8. Buggy features

How do you remember the 7 wastes?

The 7 wastes are:

1. Overproduction - creating more software than is needed

2. Waiting - waiting for software to be created or for feedback

3. Transportation - moving software around unnecessarily

4. Motion - unnecessary movement of software or data

5. Inventory - excess software or data that is not being used

6. Defects - software that is not working as intended

7. Over-processing - applying unnecessary processing to software

What are the 7 lean principles?

1. Define value from the customer's perspective.

2. Identify the value stream and eliminate waste.

3. Create flow to deliver value.

4. Pull value from the customer.

5. Seek perfection.

6. Respect people and embrace change.

7. Optimize the whole.

Who invented 7 wastes?

There is no one person who can be credited with inventing the 7 wastes. Rather, the 7 wastes is a concept that has been developed over time by many different people and organizations.

The 7 wastes is a framework that can be used to identify and eliminate waste in any process. It is often used in Lean and Six Sigma initiatives.

The 7 wastes are:

1. Waste of waiting
2. Waste of transportation
3. Waste of processing
4. Waste of inventory
5. Waste of motion
6. Waste of defects
7. Waste of overproduction

The 7 wastes is a powerful tool for identifying and eliminating waste in any process. By using the 7 wastes framework, organizations can improve efficiency and quality, and reduce costs.